2015 

NEWTOWN NEWS - ARCHIVE 
( click on a month to take you to the Newsletter ) 

NOVEMBER 2015 
DECEMBER 2015 
 
May 2018 
AFTER SCHOOL CLUBS 
Every Monday CC Coaching 2-3pm and 3-4pm 
Every Tues - Friday Clubs 2-3pm 
Every Tuesday First Aid 3-4pm 
Every Wednesday Eco Club 3-4pm 
 
1st - 11th May Whole School Testing 
3rd May Flower Arranging P6/7, 3-4pm 
4th May Hockey P6/7 
7th May School Closed 
8th May NO LIBRARY VAN 
9th, 11th, 23rd, 25th May Cycling Proficiency P7 
10th May Visit to Dental Clinic Rec-P2 
10th May Orienteering Gosford P5/6 
11th May CEF Assembly 'Weird or Wonderful' 
11th May Hockey P3-5 
11th May SEND Training Mrs Managh away 
18th May Hockey P3-5 
18th May Preparation for The Royal Wedding 
21st May Manchester Trip Info evening @7pm Lisnadill P.S 
22nd May Library Van 
23rd May Football Coaching P6/7@ 9:30am 
24th May R.E. Visitation @ 9:15am 
24th May Flower Arranging P6/7, 3-4pm 
25th May Ulster Gazette taking P7 photo 
25th May Hockey P3-5 
28th May School Closed 
29th May - 1st June Manchester Trip P7 (Mrs Henry away) 
AFTER SCHOOL CLUBS FINISH (EXCEPT CC COACHING!) 
 
 
June 2018 
AFTER SCHOOL CLUBS 
Monday CC Coaching 2-3pm & 3-4pm (4th,11th,18th June) 
 
5th June P7 High School Test @ 11:45am 
5th June Library Van 
5th June Moving On Day (Reception home at 2pm) 
6th June Love for Life P7 @ Lisnadill P.S 
6th, 8th, 13th, 15th & 20th June Cycling Proficiency P7 
7th June Football Coaching P6/7@ 9:30am 
7th June Flower Arranging P6/7, 3-4pm 
8th June Sports Day 
9th June Co Armagh Agricultural Show (Saturday) 
11th June Orienteering Gosford P7 
13th June NTH P.S Football Tournament 
14th June Mrs Henry LMS meeting 1:30pm Armagh 
20th June School Nurse seeing P1 pupils 
21st June FUN NIGHT 
22nd June Foundation Class (Rec-P2) home at 12 noon 
22nd June INDUCTION DAY 2-3pm for pupils starting Reception and P1 during 2018/19 school year 
26th June CEF Crossfire: Not Ashamed Workshop P7 
28th June Prize Morning/ Leavers Assembly for Rec - P7  
29th June School Development Day for Staff 
 
Dates still to be confirmed for 
* Distribution of Pupil Reports 
* Leavers Annual Lunch 
* Term 3 BOG Meeting 
* PTA Meeting 
 
 
October 
Thurs 6th Oct: Ian from Drop Inn Ministries will talk to the children about this year’s Shoe Box Appeal 
Friday 7th Oct: Assembly with Joyce Walsh 
Tuesday 10th Oct: Library Van 
 
10th-14th Oct:  
Keep Fit, Keep Healthy Week 
10min run/walk around 2g pitch every morning this week (weather permitting) 
Tues 11th Oct: P5-P7 Swimming 
Wed 12th Oct: Walk around Gosford Forest Park in aid of Cystic Fibrosis for Rec-P7  
Thurs 13th Oct: KS2 Hockey Tournament organized by Kingsmills PS 
Thurs 13th Oct: Fitness Blitz for Rec-P4 with CC-Coaching 
Fri 14th Oct: Healthy Eating Tuck Shop (by Student Council) 
Fr1 14th Oct: Assembly with Lyndsey & Gareth from CEF 
Mon 17th Oct: School Photographer returns to do P1 and P7 Class Photos 
Mon 17th Oct: EA Music Tuition begins (Flute & Clarinet) 
Mon17th Oct: P4 - 7 Visit from The Tharpe Family 
Tues 18th Oct: Joint PTA/ School Council Meeting at 3pm 
Thurs 27thOct: End of term Fancy Dress Party (Details to follow) 
Fri 28th Oct: Non-uniform. Assembly with Rev Murphy 
School will close at 2pm for everyone on Friday 28th October 
 
 
November 
 
Mon 7th & Tues 8th Nov: School closed for School Development Days 
School will reopen on Wednesday 9th November at 8:45 am 
Remember to fill a shoe box over Halloween for the Christmas Shoe Box appeal (Drop Inn Ministries) 
Wednesday 9th Nov: 10am Assembly with Ian (Drop Inn Ministries) 
Friday 11th Nov: Act of Remberance Service in the High School Assembly Hall. Everyone Welcome 
Mon 14th - Fri 18th: Anti-Bullying Week 
Thurs 24th Nov: Whole School Flu Immunisation 
Fri 25th Nov: P6/7 Trip to Belfast to see Belfast Giants in a friendly. 
 
 
September 
 
Thurs 1st September: BACK TO SCHOOL !! 
Mon 12th: Clubs start back this week 
Fri 16th: Hockey starts for Mrs Managh's class 
Tues 20th: Swimming starts for P5-7 
Fri 23rd: Fire Safety Talk P5-7 
Mon 26th: School Photographer 
Mon 26th: ea music service tests P4-7  
 
June 
Tues 31st May - Fri 3rd June: P6/7 Trip to Manchester 
Tues 7th June: Sports Day 9:45am (weather permitting) 
Thurs 9th June: P5-P7 'My Townland' Talk 
Fri 10th June: Induction Day 2pm (Rec - P2 home at 12noon) 
Saturday 11th June: Armagh Show 
Mon 13th June: Bibletimes Assembly and presentation of gifts for work completed this year. 
Mon 13th June: Rebecca will be visiting from Cancer Fund for Children 
Tues 14th June: P7 'Love for Life' Lisnadill Primary School 
Tues 14th June: P5/6 Slieve Gullion Hill Walk 
Wed 15th June: R.E visitation 
Thur 16th June: Annual Fun Night 
Fri 17th June: Rec - P2 last day of hockey coaching 
Fri 24th June: Prize morning at 10am 
27th & 28th June: Non Uniform Days 
29th June: SDD School closed 
30th June: SDD School closed 
 
MAY 
Mon 2nd May: BANK HOLIDAY (school closed) 
Tues 3rd May: P5-7 Swimming commences for another 4 weeks 
Wed 4th May: 'Hats and Shades' talk by Cancer Fund for Children NI 
Fri 6th May: Hockey commences for Reception - P2 
Mon 9th May: Hats and Shades Week 
Thur 12th May: Reception - P2 Trip to dentist 
Fri 13th May: P6/7 trip to Balmoral Show 
Tues 17th May: Parents evening for P6/7 children going on the Manchester Trip, Lisnadill PS at 7pm 
Wed 18th May: P7 climb Slieve Gullion 
Thurs 19th May: P5/6 climb Slieve Gullion 
Wed 25th May: Meeting at 8pm to organise a '60th Birthday Celebration Fun Night' 
Thurs 26th May: Newtownhamilton 5 aside Football Tournament 
Fri 27th May: School Development Day (school closed) 
Mon 30th May: BANK HOLIDAY (school closed) 
Tues 31st May: School Development Day (school closed) 
Tues 31st May - Fri 3rd June: P6/7 Trip to Manchester 
 
April 
Monday 4th April: School reopens for Summer Term 
 
Tuesday 5th April: Family Photo Night 
 
March 
 
Monday 29th February: Flower Arranging for adults and children (4 weeks) 
Wed 3rd March: Library Van 
Thurs 4th march: The Amazing Journey (World Book Day) 
 
17th & 18th March: SCHOOL CLOSED 
 
Wed 23rd March: Easter Celebration at 10am 
SCHOOL WILL CLOSE AT 12 NOON 
 
January 
 
Monday 4th January: No pupils in... School Development Day  
 
Tuesday 5th January: SPRING TERM COMMENCES 
 
P5-7 ICT and Robotics Day 
 
February 
 
Week Beginning 8th February: 'Food Week' 
(Monday 8th Chinese New Year, Tuesday 9th Pancake Tuesday, Wednesday 10th Chinese Celebrations in Canteen, Friday 12th Ramp Up the Red... British Heart Foundation) 
Tuesday 9th February: Safer Internet Day 
 
Monday 15th & Tuesday 16th: School closed for Half Term 
 
December 2015 
 
Monday 30th November - Friday 4th December: 
Scholastic HALF PRICE Book Fair in school all week !!! 
Tuesday 1st December: Panto in Market Place Theatre Armagh. HOME AT APPROX 4pm 
Tuesday 8th December: All Library Books to be returned 
Thursday 10th December: Open Night 6:00 - 7:30pm 
EVERYONE WELCOME 
Tuesday 15th December: 60th Anniversary Carol Service in  
The High School @ 7:30pm 
Wednesday 16 December: Christmas Dinner 
Thursday 17th December: School Play 'Countdown to Christmas'  
@ 7pm 
Friday 18th December: Non Uniform Day with End of Term Party 
Friday 18th December: End of Term. School Closes @ 12:15pm 
Tuesday 5th January: SPRING TERM COMMENCES 
November 2015 
Monday 2nd November: School re-opens at 8:45 am 
2nd November: Tharp Ministries visit P4-P7 
2nd November: Clubs recommence: 2pm CC Coaching football for P1-P3 
and Sport with Mr Andrews at 3pm for P4-P7 
Tuesday 3rd November: Swimming for P5-P7 
3rd November: 2pm Club Bible Stories and Play, 3pm Club Learning through Games and ICT 
Wednesday 4th November: 2pm Club Art and Craft for P1&P2 
Thursday 5th November: 3pm Club Eco Activities for P4-P7 
Friday 6th November: Workshops by Zoolab for P1-P7 1pm - 3pm 
Monday 9th - 12th November: Parent Interviews P1-P7 
Tuesday 10th November: Library Van 
Thursday 12th November: Genevieve the Goat Rec - P2 
Friday 13th November: Last Day to bring in Shoeboxes 
Monday 16th November: Visit to Omniplex Newry to see 'Home'  
Wednesday 18th November: P6 &7 Help out at Shoe Box Appeal Warehouse 
Friday 20th November: Whole School Flu Immunisation 
Thursday 26th November: REIM Internet Safety Talk P5 - P7 
Friday 27th November: Alanna's Haircut for The Princess Trust 
October 2015 
Friday 2nd : School Photographer (Tempest) 
Tuesday 13th : Library Van 
Wednesday 14th : Fire Safety Talk by NIFRS 
Thursday 15th: World Food Day 
Saturday 17th: Staff Day Out to Newbridge and Kildare Shopping Village  
with Cluster Schools. 
Tuesday 20th: Assembly and Workshops by Childline and NSPCC 
Wednesday 21st: P5-P7 Bryson Recycling Workshop 11am 
Wednesday 21st: P1-4 Trip to Gosford Forest Park 
Thursday 22nd October: KS2 Hockey Tournament - organised by  
Kingsmills Primary School, on 2g pitch at NTH P.S 
Thursday 22nd October: PTA Fancy Dress Party 7pm - 8:30pm 
Remember to bring a friend !! 
Friday 23rd October: Non uniform Day, feel free to come in Fancy Dress 
School Closed 24th October - 1st November 
September 2015 
 
Tuesday 1st September: School reopens at 8:45 am 
Mon 7th & Tues 8th September: First Aid Refresher Training - Mr Andrews 
Tuesday 15th September: Library Van 
Monday 21st - Friday 25th: RAF Wings Appeal Collection Box in school 
Monday 21st September: Ulster Gazette in School for P1 photo 
Wednesday 23rd September: Assembly with Ian from Drop Inn Ministries 
Tuesday 29th September: Library Van 
Tuesday 29th September: 1st Day of New Principal Training, Mrs Henry 
 
June 2015 
 
Mon 1st June : 'Healthy Eating Week' 
Tues 2nd June: Rec - P3 Funhouse Newry, Lunch included 
Defibrillator & CPR Training at 3pm for staff 
PTA Meeting 7:30pm 
Wed 3rd June: Joe Daragh EWO visits P7 pupils to talk about moving on 
Mon 8th June: SPORTS DAY 10am.... Everyone welcome !! 
Tues 9th June: P4-7 Sheepsbridge Laser Tag & Ten Pin Bowling, Lunch inc 
Cycling Proficiency Testing at 3pm 
Wed 10th June: P7 Test in High School 11:45am - 3pm 
Thurs 11th June: Newtownhamilton PS 5 a-side Football Tournament 
Fri 12th June: Moving On Day. NO P7 TO ATTEND. P1 home at 12 noon. 
2pm Induction Day for pupils attending Rec & P1 2015/16 
Mon 15th June: Drumhillery PS 5a-side Football Tournament. 
Adult Internet safety Workshop at 7pm 
Tuesday 16th June: P5-7 Internet Safety Workshop at 11am 
Thurs 18th June: PTA Fun Night 7pm - 9pm 
Fri 19th June: P7 pupils at Lisnadill PS 'Love for Life' 9:30 -12:30pm 
Mon 22nd June: British Heart Foundation Day of Sport 
Distribution of Annual Reports P1-P7 
Tues 23rd June: P5-7 Final Swimming Day 
Wed 24th June: Special Leavers Lunch for all P7 pupils 
Thurs 25th June: Annual Prize Morning 10am 
Fri 26th June: Non uniform Day. School closes at 12 noon 
May 2015 
 
Monday 4th May: Bank Holiday... School Closed 
Mon 11th May: 
Manchester trip parents meeting in Lisnadill PS at 7pm 
Tues 12th May: Library Van 
Week Beginning Monday 11th May: 
Hope for Youth Ministries will be in school everyday from 1pm - 2pm  
Friday 15th May: P7 Trip to Balmoral Show 
Wednesday 20th May: R.E. visitation 
Friday 22nd May: Bible Time Prize Distribution Morning 10am 
Monday 25th May: Bank Holiday... School Closed 
Tuesday 26th May: Library Van 
Tuesday 26th - Friday 29th May: 
KS2 Trip to Manchester 
Thursday 28th May: Rec - P2 Trip to the Dentist 
April 2015 
 
 
Wednesday 1st April: Last Day of Spring Term 
 
Thursday 2nd April - Monday 13th April: EASTER BREAK 
 
Monday 13th April - School will be closed for School Development 
 
Tuesday 14th April: School reopens for Summer Term 
 
Monday 27th April: KS2 Hockey Tournament, Ardmore 
 
March 2015 
 
Monday 2nd March: Ext Schs Flower Arranging 7pm (every Monday night) 
Tuesday 3rd March: Library Van 
Thursday 12th March: KS2 Hockey Tournament Armagh (POSTPONED) 
Monday 16th March: SCHOOL CLOSED for School Development 
Tuesday 17th March: SCHOOL CLOSED St. Patricks Day 
Friday 20th March: Closing Date for Easter Colouring Competition 
Friday 20th March 9:30am: Partial Eclipse 
Monday 23rd March: Cancer Focus Visit Rec-P2 + a visit from  
Genevieve the Goat! 
Friday 27th March: Easter Assembly for family and friends 
Monday 30th March: Nurse screening P1 pupils 
Tuesday 31st March: Nurse screening P1 pupils 
Wednesday 1st April: Last Day of Spring Term  
Non uniform & Easter Egg Hunt 
February 2015 
 
Tuesday 3rd February: Mobile Library visit 
Friday 6th February: Wear it. Beat it. British Heart Foundation Day 
Friday 13th February: Closing Date for the School Motto Competition 
 
Monday 16th February: School Closed for Half Term 
Tuesday 17th February: School Closed for Half Term 
Wednesday 18th February: School Closed for Staff Development Day 
 
Friday 20th February: Last date for returning Scholastic Book Club orders 
 
Friday 27th February: Voting Day for the Childrens Motto 
 
January 2015 
 
Monday 5th Jan: School reopens for the Spring Term 
Tuesday 6th Jan: Mobile Library visit 
Friday 9th Jan: P3-P4 final hockey session 
Monday 12th Jan: After school clubs recommence 
Tuesday 13th Jan: Swimming recommences for P5-P7 
Wednesday 14th Jan: Closing Date for submission of 
P1 application forms for Sept 2015 
Thursday 15th Jan: P5-P7 are invited to the RAF Band Concert 
Friday 16th Jan: Hockey begins for P5-P7 
Monday 19th Jan: Mr Megaw (Principal of Newtownhamilton High School) 
will be speaking to P6 & P7 pupils about his school at 2:15pm 
Wednesday 21st Jan: P3-P7 WW2 trip to Palace Stables 
Saturday 31st Jan: AQE Results, Good Luck everyone who sat the assessment! 
Farewell to Past Staff 
Designed and created by it'seeze
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. ACCEPT COOKIES MANAGE SETTINGS